Meaning Behind My Tattoo

Hello everyone!

I personally don’t believe that a tattoo has to have important meaning to the person getting it, I see tattoos as a means of artistic expression. However, my first tattoo does have quite a few different meanings for me and I thought I would take the time today to share those with all of you.

13332832_1335213149828689_4290333747604580416_n.jpg
As you can tell from the image, my tattoo is still healing up.

When I was deciding what I wanted for my first tattoo the first thing I had in mind was getting something to represent my appreciation for the ability to travel to National Parks with my family. What better way to represent nature than a tree?

IMG_6222
Grand Canyon National Park

IMG_0097

(I would also like to note that this year the National Park Service is celebrating their Centennial!)

The tree symbolizes my memories spent in National Parks as well as the respect I have gained for nature. It also serves as a reminder that we must take the initiative to protect this earth and preserve these places of beauty.

IMG_0364
My family and I at Rocky Mountain National Park

 

Another meaning behind the tattoo is the tree itself. Trees are changing and adapting to circumstances but yet they remain stable. This serves as a metaphor for myself, I want to grow and change, however I don’t ever want to lose my sense of self. Trees are also tall and stand strong similar to how I always want to portray myself.
IMG_0157

Pine and evergreen trees are commonly found in Minnesota which is my home state that I love. Growing up, my brother and sister and I would often play in the woods in our backyard. I have fond memories of building forts and going exploring beneath the trees.

As a general guideline in life, I always want to feel a connection to the earth and do my best to protect it.
IMG_0274.jpg

I love reading about people’s tattoos and the stories behind them! If you have any questions or want to share your tattoo, please do so in the comments.

Worry less and smile more. 

 

4 thoughts on “Meaning Behind My Tattoo

Let Me Know What You Think

