Getting My First Tattoo

Hey family and friends!

A few of you may be shocked to find this out, but I just recently went in and got my first tattoo! I don’t mean this in a disrespectful way whatsoever, but I honestly do not care if you don’t like it or you do not want me to have tattoos. You have a right to your opinion but this is my body and if I want to permanently mark it, I will.

58311_159178330764018_3683657_n.jpg

I figured I would write this blog post just explaining the basics of getting the tattoo for those of you who aren’t familiar with the process (Disclaimer-I am by no means an expert!).

The first thing I would recommend doing before getting tatted is asking friends or family about tattoo places they have gone to and what they would recommend. I also did research online for my particular tattoo location. Ultimately I picked Queen of Hearts Tattoo in Fridley, Minnesota. My good friend recommended it and it was rated very highly online.

The day of getting the tattoo I was pretty nervous. Luckily, I had a few friends with me for support otherwise I may have backed out from doing it!

Once we got to the place, we first filled out a sheet of paperwork consenting to getting the tattoos. After that was done the atmosphere was super chill, we explained basically what we were looking to get done and where we wanted our tattoos.

We didn’t have an appointment so we waited about twenty minutes before the owner called us back. My friend got tattooed first and to my surprise, he simply drew an outline on her skin first before proceeding with the actual ink. From the research I had done, it seemed that typically artists drew up the designs first and then placed them on the skin. However, this place focused more on making each design custom.

When it came time for me to get mine, the guy doing the tattoo asked me if I would be nervous about him tattooing it right on me without drawing an outline first.

For those of you who know me well, you know that I am a planner. The idea of getting something permanently marked on my body without a plan definitely scared me!

I told him that tattooing without an outline made me really nervous but I trusted him if he thought that would work best.

So he proceeded to tattoo my design straight onto my skin without looking at an image or tracing an outline. I was so amazed.

My tattoo isn’t very big, so I assume larger designs are a little more painful, but honestly getting tattooed was a cakewalk for me! If the idea of pain is what is preventing you from getting a tattoo, don’t worry about it.

13315615_1334534873229850_7604295212486710215_n.jpg
I was definitely feeling pretty relaxed by this point.

I am so impressed with the outcome of my tattoo! The artist delivered exactly what I was looking for and his talent really showed through by free handing the design. I am very thankful that the experience went well!

The shop minimum at Queen of Hearts is $75 which may seem a bit pricey for the size of the tattoo I got, however I wanted to make sure that the quality of the tattoo was good and done to my liking.

So without further ado, here is my first tattoo right after it was finished:

IMG_1779.jpg
My beautiful tree above my right ankle on the inside of my foot.

I am planning on doing another blog post explaining the full meaning behind why I got a tree tattoo- so be on the lookout for that one!

I would recommend Queen of Hearts Tattoo for anyone looking to get original work done.

Thanks for reading lovelies!

Worry less and smile more. 

2 thoughts on “Getting My First Tattoo

Let Me Know What You Think

