Moving Again

Growing up, I was very fortunate in the fact that my family only lived in 2 different houses for my entire upbringing. I had never given much thought about how important it is to have a place to call home. Home is what I would define as a safe haven, a sanctuary and a place where you feel as though you belong. My childhood home provided all of these for me and so much more.

Which as you can imagine, is why I was anxious about moving into my dorm at the beginning of my freshman year of college. 

However, now with there being a little more than a week left of my first year, I feel differently about how I define my home. 

I now see home as not just the physical location where you reside but the people with whom you surround yourself with. 

I am so thankful to have met so many unique and beautiful individuals here at the University of Minnesota. My closest friends live on the same floor as me, and I believe they are one of the main reasons why my transition from my parent’s home to living on my own was so smooth (thank you Amber, Michelle and Ronnie!).
12998745_1300635026619835_604379974049298318_n.jpg

This past month I have felt so ready to move back into my childhood home so I can spend the summer with my family and take a break from schoolwork. While that feeling is still there, these past few days it has started to sink in that I will be away from my college family and home that I have established here and how much I will miss them. 

It is going to be so strange not spending my Friday nights going out to eat with my friends, or bonding with them at Gopher games, or being able to share our crazy daily escapades late at night with one another. It is going to be difficult not seeing my University family for four months after practically living with each other throughout the school year.
13012801_1306112036072134_682769557301290680_n

This is not to say I won’t be happy to be living with my parents once again and getting to spend time with my high school friends because trust me I am eager for that as well!

I guess my main point is that a big change such as moving can bring sadness, uncertainty, and worry over what the future will bring. But at the same time it brings with it the promise of something new, exciting and different.

So as my first year of college comes to a close, I am left feeling unbelievably thankful and at peace with everything I have experienced in the past eight months.

Thanks to the love and kindness of my college friends, I can truly call the University of Minnesota home. Which makes leaving just a little more bittersweet. 

So here’s to the next chapter of my life: Summer 2016 here I come! (As soon as I am done with my last few finals!)

Worry less and smile more. 

One thought on “Moving Again

Let Me Know What You Think

