My Brother is Going to State!

IMG_5976
My mom, brother, dad and I after celebrating the win!

Wow has it been an exciting week! Last night my brother competed with his basketball team in the Section 4AAAA championship game against Forest Lake. The gym was packed, the fans were pumped and the boys pulled out the win! Since I live close home I have had the privilege of being able to come home periodically and watch my brother play this season. Now I feel so overjoyed for him and his teammates to have the opportunity to compete at the state level!

For those who don’t know, I too was a basketball player all through high school and my senior year made it to the section final game. It was crazy being back at the same school one year later, but this time sitting in the crowd cheering on my brother.

When I played a year ago, my team came up short in the last game and unfortunately didn’t have the chance to continue onto state. I know it sounds corny and emotional but last night I felt fortunate to be able to relive the moment again, but this time through my brother (and this time the outcome turning in our favor!). 

When that last buzzer sounded I was too happy to do anything. Just wow. It served as a simple moment in time, where I was reminded of the significance the sport has had in my life and the members of my family as well. I dedicated 11 years of my life to the sport and although I never went to state, I now can celebrate the experience through my younger brother. 

He has supported me through thick and thin and of course I will always be there to do the same for him.

IMG_1241IMG_5952
Pictured Left: My brother hugging me after the last game of my senior year when we lost at section finals.
Picture Right: Me hugging my brother after winning section finals (his junior year) last night.

With sports comes heartbreak but also moments of great triumph that you will remember for the rest of your life. The most important part, however, is that we remember those who have supported us and been with us through the good and the bad. 

But enough about my past basketball experience! Great game boys and go get em’ at state!
IMG_5953

IMG_5945

Worry less and smile more. 

One thought on “My Brother is Going to State!

Let Me Know What You Think

