Getting on a Fitness Plan- And Sticking to It!

1910498_1238041459545859_1131213961970282117_n.jpg
My new name tag on the door of my dorm room

We have all heard the horror stories of the dreaded “Freshmen 15”– the phrase that states the average college student will gain about 15 pounds their first year. After going through my first semester, I have come to understand why so many students are susceptible to this trend. College brings lots of late nights which result in lack of sleep, weird eating habits (sometimes I’ve eaten 2 dinners in the same day) and a dining service with lack luster daily buffets. Not to mention the strange class hours which can make scheduling time to work out difficult.


Last semester I will admit that I won the prize for ultimate laziness.

But the good news is that there’s room for improvement! After having my class schedule more finalized, I am excited to say that I have built in times to work out more regularly. Right now I have 2 days a week that I workout an hour before my self defense class (remind me to do a blog post about that!) which works out perfectly because I am already at the Rec center where my class is.

I am sad to say that I quit the swim club this semester, the costs were too high and I knew I wouldn’t be able to participate in meets due to my busy school schedule. It saddens me because I really love all the people there and if it had been possible, I would have wanted to continue participating.

I had originally planned on having swim club as one of my forms of exercise the days I didn’t go to the Rec. But now I have to change my plan up a little.

Now I am planning on scheduling time Wednesday’s and Saturdays where I can go to open swim. That way I will have a lot variation in my workout schedule!

How I feel when I run on a treadmill compared to when I swim

Another possibility is joining the intramural basketball team! (Something I have wanted to do for a while now!) The registration for it is coming up in a few weeks.

Ultimately I am doing my best to make exercising an important factor in my weekly routine and my life. Motivation can sometimes be hard to find but trust me it’s worth it! Even if you struggle through it as seen below:
200-4

Worry less and smile more. 

 

Let Me Know What You Think

