A Quiet Morning and a Cup of Tea

944097_1234312923252046_3267939510544808133_n.jpg
“A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until it’s in hot water” -Eleanor Roosevelt

As my winter break is slowly coming to an end, it is days like today that remind me of the simple joy of silence. My brother and sister are back at school and my father works during the day so on weekday mornings it is just my mother and I alone in the house.

This morning was particularly pleasant. I woke up at around 9:00 AM (I know I need to get back onto a regular sleep schedule again!) and was excited to make myself a breakfast smoothie and some fried eggs with a slice of sourdough bread. (Yum!) I have been experimenting with a hand-me-down blender that my mother graciously gifted me. It is very fun trying out new smoothie recipes and the best part is that you can hide green veggies in a smoothie in order to get extra nutrients. 

Even though it is a warm -2 degrees here in Minnesota, it is sunny today. What I love about sunny winter days is that when you are inside, the rays spill into the house through the windows and make the room feel warmer. It gives me the allusion of a summer morning- but be aware that outdoors it is not so toasty warm!

12552796_1234312959918709_5231126566497466484_n.jpg
You can feel the beautiful warmth from the sun.

Although I know that writing a blog post is the last thing I should be doing right now, I can’t help but sit down and pour a cup of tea- allowing myself to become lost in thought. This morning I am thankful to have a place to call home that I can always come back to.

After reading The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up, I have come to accept that certain personal belongings are sometimes only with us for a short time before they have lived their purpose. The thought of someday not having this home to come back to scares me. But at the same time, I have come to realize that this home has served its purpose well for the past fourteen years. At some point I will have to part with it, hopefully allowing it new life with a new family that will love and cherish it as much as mine did.

These are just a few things I think about when I take the time to reflect. Hope everyone is having a wonderful Tuesday!
200.gif

Worry less and smile more!

2 thoughts on “A Quiet Morning and a Cup of Tea

  1. Simplicity is such a wonderful thing. I really connect with the way you write and I absolutely love it. I’m really excited to read more from you, you have such a unique and beautiful writing style. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let Me Know What You Think

