My First College Road Trip

College definitely is an exciting time when it comes to forming new friendships. However, it is important to not forget about people from your past!

A few days ago, I was given the opportunity to go and visit a friend of mine who goes to school in Sioux Falls, South Dakota! Even though the drive was about four and a half hours long, it was extremely beautiful. The great plains create a never-ending skyline and the snow covered landscape added a shimmery touch. 

This road trip was the first (of hopefully many!) that I had taken without adult supervision.

Our second day of the trip was the most eventful! Sioux Falls got hit with a few inches of snow which meant us girls had to trudge through the snow piles where-ever we went! We made a visit to the mall (typical teenage-girl-stuff I know!) and later went out to eat at a local burger joint called Phillips Avenue Diner

12509034_1232566960093309_2830846081568253299_n.jpg
I love old-fashioned bar areas. It’s the perfect setting for a milkshake with someone special. (Or in our case ladies night out!)

The diner was a really quaint and authentic- it definitely did not disappoint! I enjoy going to local (non-chain) restaurants because I feel it gives you a better sense of the history of the location.

12509609_1232566836759988_1373327787221060998_n.jpg
Downtown Sioux Falls looked beautiful at night!

I was basically in 60’s girl heaven! Hopefully this doesn’t make you hungry but I just had to share my beautiful plate of (unhealthy but delicious) (RIP to my healthy lifestyle) food.

12540681_1232566873426651_7114400201471260704_n.jpg
An Oreo milkshake, a burger with a fried egg on it, and french fries make for a happy evening. 

After grabbing a bite to eat, my friends and I paid a visit to the actual falls that Sioux Falls is named from! It was especially inspiring because lights hanging from the trees around the falls were still up from the holiday season. Although it was a bit chilly, we dealt with the cold in order to view the gorgeous falls all lit up.

12549044_1232566586760013_6641596803171801539_n.jpg
The Sioux Falls reminded me of a mini version of Niagara Falls!

After all was said in done, I can honestly say that I learned a lot on my first road trip:
A) It is always better to travel with another person.
B) Food and warm gear are a necessity!
C) It is best not to drive on South Dakota highways during the winter months (my drive home ended up taking a little more than 6 hours due to icy roads for 130 miles. I needed a nice nap after that!)
D) Make the most of your time wherever you decide to venture.

Though my journey to South Dakota was exciting, I can say that I am very happy to be home safe in Minnesota.

Until my next adventure, worry less and smile more!

Let Me Know What You Think

